13 DECEMBER 2022


During the tabling of the Speaker’s report by Councillor Thabani Nyawose at the sitting of the last Full Council Meeting for 2022 the following announcements were made:

· EThekwini Municipality’s Chief Whip of Council, Councillor Braveman Thembubuhle Ntuli has resigned with immediate effect.

. The resignation of Executive Committee Member, Councillor Thanduxolo Sabelo which has created an ANC vacancy in Executive Committee.

The resignation of Councillor Sabelo and the regain of the seat that had been allocated to Councillor PG Mavundla who was removed as Deputy Mayor earlier in the meeting has left two ANC vacancies in the Executive Committee.

Speaker Nyawose advised Council that the ANC had determined the name of Councillor Braveman Thembubuhle Ntuli as an Executive Member filling one of the ANC vacancies in the Executive Committee. It was further noted that the ANC would determine the name of the Councillor to fill the second vacancy in due course, and this will be noted accordingly at the next Council seating.

Nyawose further advised that with the above-mentioned changes, the Municipality currently has vacancies in the Offices of Deputy Mayor and Whip of Council, and these will be filled in the next Council seating, in line with the provision of Schedule 3: Election of Office Bearers, as contained in the Local Government: Municipal Structures Act.

Speaker also announced changes to eThekwini Municipal Council membership that it had three Proportional Representative (PR) Councillor vacancies, from the African National Congress (ANC); Democratic Alliance (DA) and Action SA. These vacancies have since been filled by:
Councillor Philisiwe Constance Ndlovu from the ANC, replacing erstwhile Cllr SP Ngcobo with effect from 04 November 2022. Councillor Rodney Moses from the DA replaces erstwhile Cllr CJ Laing with effect from 01 November 2022 and Councillor Zwakele Maxwell Mncwango from ActionSA, replaces erstwhile Cllr B Radebe with effect from 30 November 2022.

The Ward Councillor vacancy in Ward 99 will be filled through a by-election that the Independent Electoral Commission (IEC) has scheduled for Wednesday, 14 December 2022.

Issued by eThekwini Municipality Communication Unit
For more information contact Municipal spokesperson Msawakhe Mayisela on 0609664220 or Mayoral Spokesperson Mluleki Mntungwa 0609744033.

Author: admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed

× How can we help you?