Thursday, 1st December 2022

The Sharks Media Release

Cell C Sharks vs. Ospreys

Date: Friday, 2nd December 2022
Time:  19h10
Venue: Hollywoodbets Kings Park, Durban
Referee: Eoghan Cross
Assistant Refs: Stephan Geldenhuys, Griffin Colby
TMO: Sam Grove-White

The Cell C Sharks have welcomed back a number of returning Springboks for their Vodacom United Rugby Championship clash against Ospreys taking place at Hollywoodbets Kings Park on Friday evening.

Ospreys come into this match under pressure, having won just once in their eight league matches to date, and arrive in Durban off the back of four losses and a draw from their last five fixtures.

The Cell C Sharks will be looking for another big boost from their returning Springboks who have brought plenty of spirit and morale back from Europe, following their outstanding 27-13 victory over England on the weekend.

Previously away on Castle Lager Rugby Championship duty, their return to the Cell C Sharks produced an emphatic message of intent, and the Boks are expected to have the same impact following the Autumn Rugby Internationals.

Springbok captain Siya Kolisi and second rower Eben Etzebeth have both carried a heavy load for the national team and haven’t been included, but Cell C Sharks Director of Rugby Neil Powell has named Ox Nche and Bongi Mbonambi in the front row, while Jaden Hendrikse and Curwin Bosch, back from the Boks and injury respectively, form an exciting halfback pairing.

Makazole Mapimpi has also returned to the club and has been named on the wing.

In other changes, Vincent Tshituka moves from flank to lock with Sikhumbuzo Noshe, Jeandre Labuschagne and Phepsi Buthelezi forming a formidable back row. Buthelezi will captain the side.

Ben Tapuai is back in the starting line-up and the Australian international will partner Francois Venter – himself an international – in the midfield, with Boeta Chamberlain slotting in at fullback.

Cell C Sharks
1. Ox Nche
2. Bongi Mbonambi
3. Carlu Sadie
4. Vincent Tshituka
5. Gerbrandt Grobler
6. Sikhumbuzo Notshe
7. Jeandre Labuschagne
8. Phepsi Buthelezi (c)
9. Jaden Hendrikse
10. Curwin Bosch
11. Makazole Mapimpi
12. Ben Tapuai
13. Francois Venter
14. Marnus Potgieter
15. Boeta Chamberlain

16. Dan Jooste
17. Ntuthuko Mchunu
18. Khutha Mchunu
19. Hyron Andrews
20. James Venter
21. Grant Williams
22. Nevaldo Fleurs
23. Rohan Janse van Rensburg



The Sharks App
#FeartheFin #OurSharksForever #VURC #SHAvsOSP




Author: admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed

× How can we help you?