Thursday 16th February 2023

The Sharks Media Release

Emirates Lions vs. Cell C Sharks

Date: Saturday, 18th February 2023
Time:  15h00
Venue: Emirates Airline Park, Johannesburg
Referee: Cwengile Jadezweni
Assistant Refs: Morne Ferreira, Stephan Geldenhuys
TMO: Quinton Immelman

The Cell C Sharks team named to take on the Emirates Lions in Johannesburg in this weekend’s return leg Vodacom United Rugby Championship has been bolstered by the return of a number of players.

Director of Rugby Neil Powell has selected a six-two split on the bench, an acknowledgement of just how physical he expects this game to be and the confrontation he anticipates from the Lions, and to this end welcomes the return of Vincent Tshituka and Dylan Richardson from injury, the pair playing off the bench and no doubt will bring impetus and energy to the team when they’re given the opportunity to get stuck in.

In changes to the side that played the DHL Stormers in the last game, Dan Jooste replaces Kerron van Vuuren at hooker and Hyron Andrews makes way for Reniel Hugo at lock, in the only changes to the pack.

In the backline, Grant Williams returns to action, with Cameron Wright playing off the bench while Francois Venter takes over from Ben Tapuai who is the other backline player amongst the replacements.

The final change sees Werner Kok back from injury, replacing Marnus Potgieter on the wing.

The Cell C Sharks will feed off the confidence gained out of their first round derby match at Hollywoodbets Kings Park in December last year, a 37-10, five try to one bonus point victory, but will also understand the need – as well as accept the challenge – to deliver a comprehensive performance that ticks all the boxes.

Cell C Sharks
1. Ntuthuko Mchunu
2. Dan Jooste
3. Carlu Sadie
4. Reniel Hugo
5. Gerbrandt Grobler
6. James Venter
7. Henco Venter
8. Phepsi Buthelezi (c)
9. Grant Williams
10. Curwin Bosch
11. Thaakir Abrahams
12. Rohan Janse van Rensburg
13. Francois Venter
14. Werner Kok
15. Aphelele Fassi

16. Fez Mbatha
17. Dian Bleuler
18. Hanro Jacobs
19. Vincent Tshituka
20. Dylan Richardson
21. Sikhumbuzo Notshe
22. Cameron Wright
23. Ben Tapuai


The Sharks App
#FeartheFin #OurSharksForever #VURC #LIOvsSHA

Author: admin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Fill out this field
Fill out this field
Please enter a valid email address.
You need to agree with the terms to proceed

× How can we help you?